Gay Adventures in Domesticity

Martha Ain’t Got Nuttin’ on Domestigay!

 

I did it again.  I saw a (knitted) project to completion.  This time it was a much smaller pattern.  A good pattern for people who have a hard time when they don’t see results.  That means this pattern is quick.  A good pattern for people who have a hard time focusing.  That means this pattern is not one stitch from bottom to top.  A good pattern, all around.

This is the Berutti hat by Wendy Neal.  This hat has a zig-zag pattern up one side of it.

In addition to the zig-zagging pattern.  You may admire my very large nose.  It looks much better when you look at me from an angle.  See?

So I have completed two projects.  I may make a martini tonight to celebrate.  Or, I should read since I spent a lot of today finishing this project and not reading.  Did I mention school started again?  Domestigay is domestibusy these days.

A friend sent me a card.  The card is in the picture below.  It features a Victorian boy who, through magic photoshop, has a knitted shawl around him.

The card is hysterical.  It says, “Martha went into prison and taught those bitches to knit…what the hell did you do today?” I think it is apt.  I respond to Martha saying, “Watch out! There’s a new craftin’ bitch that hasn’t done hard time!”  While I admire Martha, she ain’t got nuttin’ on me.  She served time in the sticks of West Virginia.  Well, I am from those sticks.  In fact, when I was little, I gathered those sticks up and made one bad-ass house that rivals her studio kitchen.  Take that Ms. Martha.

 

2 responses

  1. I am immediately pasting your URL into my Google Reader subscription box. I don’t think that shows up here as a “committer” but I don’t want anything else in my email inbox. I’m already overwhelmed by the email from Crafters Choice, University of Wisconsin, Eddie Bauer, and some quilting store in Indiana where I once entered a raffle. I just started blogging too, in August. Won’t this be fun? Now let’s see if WordPress figured out the right blog address to link with my name. It should be http://livinginred.wordpress.com.

    September 17, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    • jvanfosson

      Subscribed and lovin’ it! Yay!

      September 18, 2011 at 12:26 am

Whaddya Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.