Gay Adventures in Domesticity

G’bye Knitting Virginity, Hello Promiscuous Crafting

I finally did it.  After not posting for over a week, I did it. I finished a project to completion.  I actually knitted something from start to finish.  It looks like a kindergarten student’s arts and crafts project, but I did it and have my very own first project.  One thing about any new endeavor is that once you complete something for the first time, it is always there.  You will never have another “first.”  Now I will have my first hat, first coffee cozy (damn, I can’t wait to knit one of those), first whatever, but the point is, I actually saw this project to completion.  When it comes to knitting and crochet, I never see things to completion.  My perfectionist censor gets in the way.  Not this time.  There are dropped (and just plain missing) stitches.  I’ve spliced yarn in a couple of places.  My bind off row is extremely too tight.  And these are just some of the problems I know about.


A very wise knitter once told me.  Stick with your first project.  Finish it and move on.  Then, once you have a couple projects, you should probably throw that first one away.  I agree.  I love the pattern that I used and the yarn.  I actually hope to remake this scarf sometime soon.  I’d love to have it in the freezing winters ahead of me because I like the versitiltiy of it.  One may either wear it as an open scarf (see above) or as a doubled up cowl (see below).


The scarf I knitted is the “Purl Ridge Scarf” by Stephen West.  I am a huge fan of his work and hope to someday make one of his awesome triangle-shaped scarfs.  I know they’d look great with my jackets and v-necks.  This scarf is worked in the round and uses stockinette and garter stitches.  It is, I think, a great beginner’s project.  I used Mushishi Yarn from the Plymouth Yarn Company.

By the way, I’m on Ravelry! Are you?  Find me! I’m domestigay.

**A note about the pictures: I HATE taking pictures in the mirror.  So much so that I have found this amazing website: Get Out of the Mirror.  Living alone, however, presents challenges for clothing-related project photography.  I apologize and realize that I should, indeed, GET OUT OF THE MIRROR!**

3 responses

  1. Bravo, sir! And congrats on landing such a handsome model for your first project. You are well on your way down the knitting road. Welcome to the madhouse.

    September 4, 2011 at 4:29 pm

  2. Olive

    hi there, quick question from a knitting noobie.
    did you use US 8 needles as in the instructions for the purl ridge scarf, or US 7 needles as is typically used with mushishi yarns?

    September 21, 2011 at 4:52 am

    • jvanfosson

      I sent you an e-mail. But in case anyone else is wondering, I used a size 7 and it turned out wonderfully (as far as size goes).

      September 21, 2011 at 6:10 pm

Whaddya Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.